Your Source For The Arts In Atlanta

News: Announcing the 2016 ArtsATL Luminary Award nominees

On January 22, 2017, ArtsATL will celebrate the first recipients of our ArtsATL Luminary Awards — our commemoration of the passionate, creative and innovative spirit of Atlanta’s arts community. Our inaugural awards ceremony will take place at Terminal West from 6-8 p.m. on Sunday, January 22. The evening will pay tribute to the winners of our four awards: The Amaranth Award for philanthropic legacy, The Beacon Award for community engagement, The Catalyst Award for social discourse, and The Kindle Award for innovative practice.

The ceremony will feature emcee Lucky Yates and include special performances by Atlanta-based creatives, award presentations, and sneak peaks of original short films produced by ArtsATL for each of our four award winners.

But before issuing the announcement of the four winners chosen by our esteemed selection panel, ArtsATL would like to commemorate this year’s nominees. “It was inspiring to have the opportunity to review such a large volume of nominations for the inaugural ArtsATL Luminary Awards,” said committee chair Ivan Pulinkala. “These nominations affirmed the incredible impact so many artists, philanthropists, organizations, and administrators are having on the arts ecology in Atlanta.” Cumulatively, over 80 nominations were issued for the four awards — organizations, individuals, exhibitions, performances and artists were all represented. This year’s nominees included:

The 49 Portraits Project

Neda Abghari, The Creatives Project

Karen Lynn Anderson, Tiny Doors ATL

Aurora Theatre

Miya Bailey, City of Ink

Peter Bahouth, Artist

Robin Bernat, Poem88

Kathy and Ken Bernhardt

Lela Brunet, Artist

Monica Campana, Living Walls

Morgan Carlisle, Eyedrum

Fyodor Cherniavsky, DeKalb Symphony Orchestra

Pearl Cleage, Playwright

Annette Cone-Skelton, MOCA GA

Counter Narrative Project

Makeba Dixon-Hill, Spelman College Museum of Fine Art

Dad’s Garage Theatre


Robert G. Edge

Jody Feldman, Alliance Theatre

Anthony Harper, The Goat Farm Arts Center

 IDEA Capital Atlanta

Camille Russell Love, City of Atlanta Office of Cultural Affairs

Sara Hehir

Tamara Harper, Atlanta Music Project

John Hiner, Artist

The Lucky Penny

William Massey III, Artist

John McFall, Atlanta Ballet (formerly)

Jack Michael, Lucky Hand Press

Amy Miller, Atlanta Celebrates Photography

Christopher Moses, Alliance Theatre

North Gwinnett Arts Association

Masud Olufani, Artist

Brenda Porter, Actress

Sheila Pree Bright, #1960NOW

Joshua Rashaad McFadden, Artist

Matthew Terrell, Artist

Usher and Georgia State University, “Chains” Project

Sue Schroeder, CORE

Lauri Stallings, gloATL

DoT Wilson, Artist

The Vega String Quartet

Zuckerman Museum of Art

Tomer Zvulun, The Atlanta Opera

“We were thrilled to see the breadth of nominees that were selected for the inaugural Luminary Awards. It was important to us that our readers and members of the arts community be an integral part of selecting who has mattered the most to them over the past year,” said ArtsATL executive director, Susannah Darrow. “We are delighted to honor this year’s nominees. They are all included because of the tremendous work they have done to propel Atlanta’s arts community forward.”

A limited number of Host Committee tickets are now available. Host Committee members and event sponsors will join ArtsATL for a private pre-ceremony reception at Southern Exposure from 5-6 p.m., located immediately adjacent to Terminal West. More information about Host Committee membership and tickets may be found here.