Your Source For The Arts In Atlanta

On January 27, 2019, ArtsATL will recognize the best of the best in Atlanta arts during the third-annual Luminary Awards ceremony, which will be held 6–8 p.m. at City Winery. Before the winners are revealed this winter, we want to recognize all the people and organizations who were lifted up during the nomination process.

The Luminary Awards are Atlanta’s premier arts honors, celebrating the social impact, diversity, innovation, leadership and generosity of the city’s creative community.

The awards are given out in five categories: Arts Education, Community Engagement, Philanthropic Legacy, Outstanding Leadership and Arts Innovation. A selection committee is reviewing the nominees to select the winner from each category.

Today, we announce all those who were nominated for the 2019 Luminary Award for Outstanding Leadership.


An organization or individual whose lasting guidance has cultivated and maintained the Atlanta arts community.

Amir Farokhi

As City Council representative, District 2, Farokhi championed the effort to double the city’s budget to support the arts for 2019.

Tom Key

Key is the artistic director of Theatrical Outfit, renowned as a performer and manager.

Miranda Kyle

Kyle is the arts and culture project manager of Art on the BeltLine, which brings exhibits, sculptures and performances to the completed stretches of the BeltLine pedestrian trail.

Jessica Caldas

Caldas is an artist, advocate and activist.

Jessyca Holland

Holland is the executive director of C4 Atlanta.

Lauri Stallings

Stallings is a choreographer and artist who has provided leadership to numerous Atlanta arts organizations.

Arturo Jacobus

Jacobus is in his eighth season as the president and CEO of Atlanta Ballet.

Lara Smith

Smith is the managing director of Dad’s Garage.

Eric Nelson

Nelson is the artistic director of Atlanta Master Chorale.

Vincent Anthony

Anthony is the executive director and founder of the Center for Puppetry Arts.

Kevin Sipp

Sipp is the curator of the City of Atlanta’s Gallery 72.

Angela Harris

Harris is the executive artistic director of Dance Canvas.

Charlie Yates

Yates, a longtime arts patron, is vice-chair of the board of directors of the Atlanta Opera.

Marianne Lambert

Lambert has been a curator, arts patron and arts advocate for Georgia artists since the early 1970’s.

Douglas Scott

Scott is the artistic director and founder of Full Radius Dance.

John Welker

Welker is the cofounder of Terminus Modern Ballet Theatre.

Joe Bankoff

Bankoff is the chair of the Fulton County Arts Council and previously served as president and CEO of the Woodruff Arts Center and as the chair of the Nunn School of International Affairs at Georgia Tech.

Donate Today