Your Source For The Arts In Atlanta

Artadia: The Fund for Art and Dialogue, a New York-based organization that operates a national network of support for working artists, has announced the 15 finalists for its 2011 Atlanta awards.

They are Yun Bai, Daniel Biddy, Brian Dettmer, Craig Drennen, Sarah Emerson, Sarah Hobbs, Gyun Hur, John Q, Jason Kofke, Lynn Marshall-Linnemeier, M. Ryan Nabulsi, Joseph Peragine, Rocío Rodriguez, Micah Stansell and Jim Yarbrough. Seven of these artists, whose names will be announced in November, will win cash awards — two of $15,000 and five of $3,000 — and become part of Artadia’s support network, which includes, for example, exhibitions in other cities and residency opportunities.

Panelists Patrick Amsellem, associate curator of photography at the Brooklyn Museum; Diana Al-Hadid, a New York-based artist; and Atlanta critic Cinqué Hicks selected the finalists from a field of nearly 200 applicants.

To judge the final round, Bonnie Clearwater, director and chief curator of the Museum of Contemporary Art in North Miami, and Julie Rodrigues Widholm, associate curator of the Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago, will join Hicks in Atlanta at the end of this month to visit the finalists’ studios.

Artadia partners with local philanthropists to raise the money for the awards. Support for this cycle came from the Judith Alexander Foundation and the LUBO Fund, and from individual contributors led by Artadia board member Louis Corrigan, in addition to Robert Brawner, Paul Hagedorn, Nancy and Gene Hooff, Lauren and Tim Schrager, an anonymous donor and New York board member Marie Samuels.

Donate Today