Your Source For The Arts In Atlanta

Host Shuler Hensley addresses the audience.

Forty-two Georgia high schools vied for one of the coveted Shuler Hensley Awards this year, and three led the charge.

The winners of the awards, which honor excellence in high school musical theater, were announced Tuesday night at a Tony Awards-style ceremony at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre. “Zombie Prom,” staged by Starr’s Mill High School in Fayette County, and “Hairspray,” by Pebblebrook High School in Cobb County, received four awards each, the most of the night, while Milton High School in Fulton County took home three awards including the top one, Best Overall Production, for “The Drowsy Chaperone.”

The cast of Milton High School's "The Drowsy Chaperone" takes flight.

Pebblebrook High School's award-winning ensemble performs a show-stopping number from "Hairspray."

Actors get scary in a scene from Starr's Mill High School's "Zombie Prom."

Wins in the lead acting categories by Evan Greenberg of Riverwood International Charter School (“25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee”) and Brittany Dankwa of Tri Cities High School (“The Color Purple”), both in Fulton County, earned those talented performers a trip to the Minskoff Theater on Broadway in June, where they’ll participate in the 2012 National High School Musical Theater Awards.

Most of the schools that competed for the awards are in the metro Atlanta area.

2012 Shuler Hensley Awards Winners

Brittany Dankwa

Featured Performer: Olivia Washington, Woodward Academy, “Hairspray”

Ensemble: Pebblebrook High School, “Hairspray”

Costume Design: Starr’s Mill High School, “Zombie Prom”

Scenic Design: Milton High School, “The Drowsy Chaperone”

Lighting Design: Milton High School, “The Drowsy Chaperone”

Supporting Actress: Onya Russell, Tri Cities High School, “The Color Purple”

Supporting Actor: Alec Nash, Atlanta International School, “Disney’s Beauty and the Beast”

Technical Execution: Starr’s Mill High School, “Zombie Prom”

Leading Actress: Brittany Dankwa, Tri Cities High School, “The Color Purple”

Leading Actor: Evan Greenberg, Riverwood International Charter School, “25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee”

Evan Greenberg

Orchestra: Starr’s Mill High School, “Zombie Prom”

Choreography: Pebblebrook High School, “Hairspray”

Music Direction: Pebblebrook High School, “Hairspray”

Direction: Starr’s Mill High School, “Zombie Prom”

Overall Production: Milton High School, “The Drowsy Chaperone”

Trophies weren’t the only prizes handed out Tuesday night. The Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre Foundation announced the recipients of six scholarships, including five awarded to students and one to McIntosh High School.

2012 Scholarship Recipients

Morrell Memorial  Scholarship: Bailey Reeves of Calhoun High School

Doris Corrie Russell Scholarship for Dance: Erin Deebel of the Walker School

The Broadway Dreams Foundation:

  •      Summer Intensive Program: Nicole Carpenter of Johns Creek High School
  •      Technical Scholarship: Amber Laudicina of Salem High School

Theatre of the Stars Musical Theatre Scholarship: John Fiscian of Parkview High School

Scenic Design Grant from the Jubilee Cultural Arts Alliance: McIntosh High School

Donate Today

Stay up to date on
all things Arts ATL