Your Source For The Arts In Atlanta


The Townsend Prize has announced the 10 finalists for its 2014 award. Given biannually, it honors a Georgia writer for an outstanding work of fiction during the preceding two years. Author Jesmyn Wardwhose Salvage the Bones won the 2011 National Book Award, will deliver the keynote address at the award ceremony, to be held on April 24 at the Atlanta Botanical Gardens.

2014 Townsend Prize Finalists: (You can click on the authors names for our reviews and interviews.)

Accidents of Providence by Stacia Brown

Someone Else’s Love Story by Joshilyn Jackson

Pickett’s Charge by Charles McNair

A Place at the Table by Susan Rebecca White

The Starboard Sea by Amber Dermont

Where You Can Find Me by Sheri Joseph

I Want to Show You More by Jamie Quatro

God Carlos by Anthony Winkler

Emerson’s Brother by Philip Lee Williams

A True History of the Captivation, Transport to Strange Lands, & Deliverance of Hannah Guttentag by Josh Russell

Thomas Mullen received the 2012 Townsend Prize for The Many Deaths of the Firefly Brothers. Past awardees include Alice Walker, Kathryn Stockett and Terry Kay.

Donate Today

Stay up to date on
all things Arts ATL