Your Source For The Arts In Atlanta

Art on the Atlanta BeltLine has announced its 2016 selected artists. The program will return for its seventh year with the annual Atlanta BetlLine Lantern Parade on September 10. This year’s temporary public art exhibition will include more than 150 works of art, including Berlin’s Addison Karl, Tiny Doors ATL, Atlanta Music Project and George King Architects.

“For the seventh year, Art on the Atlanta BeltLine is capturing the talent of artists to showcase one of the most transformative redevelopment projects in the city’s history,” said Paul Morris, President and CEO of Atlanta BeltLine Inc. “The leadership of our mayor, combined with the support of our partners and sponsors displays the value Mayor Reed and the Atlanta community place on art in public spaces.”

“Public art is an essential component of a diverse but unified Atlanta,” said Camille Russell Love, Executive Director of the Mayor’s Office of Cultural Affairs (OCA). “The City is proud to support Art on the Atlanta BeltLine for another year.”
Here is the full list of artists:
Luke Achterberg
Karl Addison
Formations Studio
Tiny Doors ATL
UP and Boys & Girls Club of Metro Atlanta
Cash Barnes
Hannah Betzel
Charlie Brouwer
Neil Carver
Owens + Crawley
Leland Drexler-Russell
Nghi Duong & Mandy Palasik
Will Eccleston
Experience Collective
Anna Gromova
Ben Janik
Nick Kahler
Helena Kang
Ray Katz
JD Koth
Deborah Landry
Andrew Light
William Massey
Ryan Mathern
Atlanta Celebrates Photography
Kemp Mooney
Dorothy O’Connor and Craig Appel
Oktawian Otlewski
Posts for Peace and Justice
Indie Craft Experience
Sanithna Phansavanh, Brandon Sadler, Peter Ferrari
Cat Chiu Phillips
Nathan Pierce
Phil Proctor
Alex Rodriguez DMD
Maxwell Sebastian
Jason Smith
Michael Stasny
Jeff Whipple
Mike Wsol
Frank Yoculan
Niki and Arian Zarrabi
Jane Zhu
Harry Zmijewski
Atlanta Taiko Project
Hillside Presbyterian Church Handbell Choir
Atlanta Music Project
Dance Canvas
Beatrix Clark
Farmer Greenthumbs
Crossover Movement Arts
Tray Dahl & the Jugtime Ragband
Distilled Butter
Flight of Swallows
Mark Gindick
Gateway Performance Productions
Eric Thomas and Elevate the Quest
Mike Lowery and Sarah Neuburger
Mike McDaniel
Awalim Dance Company
Pete Peterson and the Blues in the House Band
Ghosts Project
Saira Raza, Jeremi Johnson, and Sanam Azeem
Mausiki Scales and the Common Ground Collective
Soul Food Cypher
Michael Standard and Aleksandra Tevdoska
Thorkmorton Ukulele Band
Toni Marie Young


Ryan Gravel. Photo by Josh Meister. Image courtesy the author.

Ryan Gravel. Photo by Josh Meister. Image courtesy the author.

The Decatur Book Festival has announced that Ryan Gravel, whose Georgia Tech graduate thesis was the basis for Atlanta’s BeltLine, will be the inaugural recipient of the Judy Turner Prize at the 2016 Atlanta Journal-Constitution Decatur Book Festival.

Gravel will receive the prize during a ceremony on Sunday, Sept. 4, at 3:45 p.m. at the Decatur Marriott Conference Center before he presents his book, Where We Want to Live: Reclaiming Infrastructure for a New Generation of Cities.

The prize is named in honor of the DBF founding board member, Judy Turner, who has continued to serve as the president of what is now the largest independent book festival in the country. Turner retired earlier this year from Private Bank of Decatur after a 51-year career in banking.

“I can think of no better choice for the inaugural winner of the Judy Turner Prize than Ryan Gravel,” DBF Founding Executive Director Daren Wang said. “Judy has dedicated her career and volunteerism to the communities in which she has lived and worked and the BeltLine is helping to redefine community in Atlanta, bringing a vibrancy to the urban core. That would not be possible without Ryan’s vision.”

Donate Today